nomadgeek.blogg.se

My passport external hard drive troubleshooting
My passport external hard drive troubleshooting




  1. #My passport external hard drive troubleshooting how to#
  2. #My passport external hard drive troubleshooting update#
  3. #My passport external hard drive troubleshooting driver#

It comes with intuitive interface and you just needs a few clicks to finish the check. If you are not familiar or confused with Commands, to avoid any further mistakes to occur, you can turn to AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard to perform CHKDSK checking.

  • Check and repair WD passport with third-party software.
  • Type “exit” and press Enter to close Command Prompt. ✍Note: "g" It is the drive letter of the disk that going to be checked, you can change it with your WD drive letter. In the Command Prompt, type “ CHKDSK : /f /r /x”, and press Enter to execute. Press “Win + R” to open Run box and type “ cmd” on the box to open Command Prompt. If you are familiar with Command Prompt, you can follow these steps to fix the issue. It is very helpful for advanced computer users.
  • Check and repair WD passport with Command PromptĬommand Prompt is a build-in tool in Windows OS.
  • There are two methods for you to launch CHKDSK tool.

    my passport external hard drive troubleshooting

    You can check and fix the passport disk errors with CHKDSK.exe. Check and repair WD passport with CHKDSK.exeĪfter updating driver, if the WD passport I/O device error is still there. Then follow the instruction to complete the updating. But if you have downloaded the latest driver, choose the second option.

    #My passport external hard drive troubleshooting driver#

    The first option will search for the latest driver on the Internet. In this window, you will see two options. Under Disk drives, find your WD passport and click “update driver software”. Click “ Device Manager” under the “System Tools” tab. Right-click “This PC” and click “Manage”.

    #My passport external hard drive troubleshooting update#

    And you can follow these steps to update your driver Beyond doubt, the Windows can’t accomplish any Input/output operation, so the I/O error will appear. WD passport cannot be detected by computer with an outdated driver. Change another cord or plug the WD passport with another USB port, and see if the error is solved.

    my passport external hard drive troubleshooting

    Firstly, you should check if it is related with power supply or poor connection. In most cases, I/O error occurs because of wrong or loose connection.

    my passport external hard drive troubleshooting

    exeĪddition: If the internal hard drive encounter i/o errorĪ WD passport is connected with USB port. Check and repair WD passport with CHKDSK.

    my passport external hard drive troubleshooting

    And now follow these methods to fix WD passport I/O device error in Windows 10/8/7.

    #My passport external hard drive troubleshooting how to#

    How to fix WD passport I/O device error in Windows 10/8/7?Īlthough I/O device error is not a serious issue, once you can access your WD passport or other external hard drives, just in case any data loss, you are supposed to back up the disk. Why does this happen? There are common reasons leading to I/O device error, you can find a way to fix this error from these reasons. When I/O error occurs, you would receive different message, such as “The request could be performed because of an I/O device error” “Only part of a read process memory request was completed”. I/O device error can happen to many devices, like HDD, USB flash drive, and CD. WD passport I/O device error means Windows can't perform an input/output operation when it is trying to access to a WD passport. Question from community.WD.com What is an I/O device error? When I couldn’t access it this morning, it said my WD passport has an I/O device error.” What that means and is there any way to fix this problem?” I have a WD 1TB passport, and it has about 600GB worth of data inside including a few years’ worths of photos.






    My passport external hard drive troubleshooting